“Will He Still Look at Me The Same”

That look in his eyes when I shared to him the big news that he soon would be a big brother and no longer the baby of the house.  I think this is something that every mother is faced with at some point in her life.

With all the excitement going on about bringing our baby girl Annamaria into the world, I forgot about my little guy. It was at that moment, that so many thoughts started running through my mind. Will he still look at me the same, will he love me any less, is he going to understand, how will I play with him and take care of her?  Then I thought, he has to know, he has to know that I would never love him any less and that we are only being blessed even more than we already are. That he will have someone else to love him and to share this amazing journey of life. But let’s be honest, these are all the things that us moms worry about.

I then told my husband and of course, he thought I was crazy lol. He told me that the bond I have with my children could never be broken. That it will only grow stronger. (He always knows what to say!) I know that he’s right but I can’t help but to think these things.

All he knows, is he’s been the only one for the last 2 1/2 years to sit on my hips. Now he will have to share the other one. For 2 1/2 years, he has been the only one to sit on my lap while we watch movies together. Now he will have to share my lap. For 2 1/2 years, he has been the only one to cuddle in my arms at night. Now he will have to share my other side. For 2 1/2 years he has been the only one that I sing lullabies to, to help him fall asleep. Now he will have to share that time at night while I sing lullabies to his baby sister, to now help her fall asleep. For 2 1/2 years, he has been the only one to have all that is left of me after a long day. Now he will have to share that time. He will no longer have all of me, all of the time.

These were all the things I also thought about 11 years ago, when I brought my second child into the world. I remember breaking down and crying, because I was so afraid that my baby boy who always got all of me, will now have to share. I thought, how would that effect him?

Well I’m here to tell you that everything is going to be JUST FINE!!! I think I’ve learned a few things after having three children. (At least I tell myself that!) All those worries that I once had, I no longer do, because I know that as a mother, you never run out of enough love. There’s no such thing as only being able to love one child. If you’re a mother of multiple children, you know exactly what I mean, and for those moms to be, or to be for the second time, you will soon understand.

Love for a child is an amazing thing and it will not disappoint you. It will not take away from you but only give you more, and sometimes that is hard to imagine. So stop worrying and asking yourself so many questions and just believe in the power of love. The power of a child’s love, the power of a mother’s love. Like they say “Love Conquers All,” and believe me, you will soon see…

 

Leave a Reply

